Source: link

Grand Slam tournament is a big sport event in Tennis. The event comprises of the four major tennis tournaments of the year in terms of world ranking points, prize-money awarded, tradition or public attention. The four big events are the Australian Open, the French Open, Wimbledon and the US Open, played in the same order. Among all, the Australian Open and the US Open are played on hard courts, the French Open is played on clay and Wimbledon is played on grass.

The title “Grand Slam” was meant to be awarded to a collective winner of all four major tournaments in a single year. However, it has also been used for many years now to refer to any of the major tournaments and this is technically incorrect.

The open era of tennis took place in 1968. It was a formal decision that was taken by the major tournaments under which all agreed to allow professional players to compete on the ground that started with Wimbledon, US Open, the French Open and the Australian Open. Since 1905, all the four major tournaments have been played on a yearly basis.

The title Grand Slam is awarded to the singles player or doubles team that wins all four major tournaments consecutively in a year, but if in case the victory is not marked over all four major tournaments consecutively in a year then it is known as a Non-Calendar Year Grand Slam. A win of all four major tournaments at any point of time in a career, achieves the winner a title namely, Career Grand Slam.

Below has been mentioned some quick points about all the majors respectively:

Australian Open: This tennis tournament is annually held in January and is the first major tournament among all four to constitute the Grand Slam.

French Open: This tennis event is held for two weeks, which starts from mid May and ends by early June. This event is played in Paris, France and is ranked as the second major event to constitute the Grand Slam on the annual tennis calendar.

Wimbledon: This tennis tournament marked the start of the major events in Tennis. Undoubtedly it is the oldest and the most important event in Tennis. It takes place every year and lasts for two weeks, starting in June and ending in July. The five major events are the gentlemen’s singles, ladies’ singles, gentlemen’s doubles, ladies’ doubles and mixed doubles.

US Open: This tennis tournament is the final major tournament and it is held annually in August and September over a two-week period. The main tournament consists of five different event championships: men’s and women’s singles, men’s and women’s doubles, and mixed doubles, with additional tournaments for senior, junior, and wheelchair players.


About The Author

Related Posts

One Response

  1. Buy Apples Here

    My brother suggested I would possibly like this web site. He was once entirely right. This submit actually made my day. You can not consider just how a lot time I had spent for this info! Thank you!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.